The natural battle


A few of my readers have been having a hot debate on Twitter about natural hair and I just wanted to step in a state my stance on natural hair. In 2009,I had no idea what my natural hair looked like. I started getting relaxers in middle school after getting teased brutally about my curls, I did not want to relax my hair because all my friends complained of the painful process. My grandmother heard about the teasing and took me to a salon for my first relaxer. I stepped out of the chair with silky straight hair, with pretty flat twists in the front, every 6-8 weeks I got a relaxer and a new style to go with it. Eventually, my reddish brown hair (I was a ginger baby) began to turn orange and blond due to over processing. Getting my hair done became a painful experiance  as I got scabs and scalp irritation. Still, believing relaxed hair was the only way to be beautiful in my neighborhood, I continued the process. Eventually, I had to have more “treatments” to hide the damage of my hair and my hair stopped growing or broke off.

Fast forward to college when my friend had short (she just did the big chop) but very beautiful, healthy, natural hair. She chopped off all of her relaxed hair and at the time I couldn’t even imagine my hair without relaxers. I began to look into the process of going natural, I learned of all the damaging chemicals in relaxers and I knew I could no longer put carcinogens (cancer causing agents) on my scalp anymore. After transitioning for a short period of time, I knew I had enough of being a slave to my hair. I went quietly into my bedroom with a pair of scissors and cut off all my hair. I felt free! Eventually, I saw beautiful curls and for the first time in at least a decade, I saw what I looked like. For the first time I saw a happy, chemical free, me. I never looked back. Now my hair is long and strong and beautiful and all I needed was the knowledge to pamper my hair.

 

Now lets do the Pitts shuffle!

One thought on “The natural battle

  1. it’s amazing to see how much hair means to people of different cultures, how much trauma it can cause, how apolitical it may seem to others. but as a minority, most of the time, the personal is political…even when it comes to your hair. you chose to make a statement, to not be a slave to your hair, and in turn, to society’s expectations. kudos to you!

Leave a Reply

