Hair, hair, everywhere: Henna


Hey all, so lately I have been debating whether or not I should henna my hair. As many of you know, Henna has the ability to color the hair but I would be using henna for its other benefits. Some of these benefits include:

  • Thicker hair
  • Stronger Stands (by sealing the cuticle)
  • Silkier hair
  • Some argue that it promotes hair growth
  • Balances pH
  • Enhances shine

Now the question is what color henna would I use? Cassia has the benefits of henna but does not leave a tint, Henna leaves a red hue and Indigo leaves a blue black kind of color.  Summer is right around the corner and a reddish tone to my hair would be fabulous, but I love the way natural hair looks super dark… decisions, decisions.

 

P.S Today I wore my mane very beyonce-esque very curly and HUGE. Not only did I love it but many of my classmates did too! Yay!

 

3 thoughts on “Hair, hair, everywhere: Henna

  1. I disagree with Cathy. Henna is definitely permanent. I’ve been putting henna in my hair for about a year now. Your hair is very light and I think you would see more than a reddish tinge to your hair.

    You could do a hendigo (henna and indigo) which I have done quite recently but I wasn’t with the colour of my hair which was quite dark and I preferred the texture before. You also cannot dye hair after putting indigo in your hair.

    If you wanted to take the henna out of your hair, you would need to either grow it out or cut it out. Both are not great alternatives.

    I have afro curly hair but one thing you must be aware of is that henna has been known to take the curl out of the hair. By adding amla to the hair, this can protect your curl.

    There are a lot of threads you can read particularly on the Long Hair Community. Please think about this as it is definitely permanent. And the last two words for you: strand test!

Leave a Reply

