Head to Head: Trader Joe’s Nourish Spa Balance Moisturizing Conditioner vs Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deeper Moisture Conditioner


Ring the bell ladies, this will be an interesting fight.

Expectations: Looking for a moisturizing conditioner used for co-washes and possibly as a styler. Must smell nice, and feel moisturizing in and out of the shower. Phthalates need not apply.

I started this journey with a Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deeper Moisture Conditioner, I  literally wanted to try this for years!

Price: $8.99 (8.5 oz) at Ricky’s NYC (A little rich for my blood)

Product: Very thick and luxurious feeling, allows for effortless detangling (provided you section your hair), coats strands nicely, rinses out clean with a crisp scent. After washing out my hair felt normal. Blah. I was expecting harps to play and my curls to look like Teyana Taylor’s. Alas, I was let down only slightly. The product is still worth a repurchase (if on sale) but still not my HG (holy grail) conditioner.

After feeling like I was missing something with the Giovanni conditioner, I took to the online natural hair community to see what the ladies were talking about (I keep my ears to the streets), I heard very good things about Trader Joe’s Nourish Spa Balance Moisturizing Conditioner and decided to give it a try.

Price: 2.99 (16.9 oz) at Trader Joe’s (Now that’s what i’m talking about)

When I lathered up with the Trader Joe’s condish, I knew I could be pushing my luck, I clarifyed twice in two days (a curly girl no-no) and desperately needed to put the moisturre back into my hair. I squirted the product into my hand and I was surprised how good the product felt in my hands. Thick and moisturizing but felt less heavy than Mr. Giovanni. I slid the product through my strands and let sit for like 2 mins. As I rinsed I was impressed with my hair, it felt like it got it’s groove back. The next day,  I tried to use the product as a styler which sadly didn’t work in my favor. But I may be on to something with using the product as a conditioner only.

The verdict: 

It’s a photo finish, the Trader Joe’s conditioner wins on it’s price and formula but in terms of my how my hair felt, the results are quite comprable. But I do like the Giovanni scent better.

Leave a Reply

